Ottawa Branch

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is made up of twelve volunteers who are members of the Association in good standing. The Board consists of a President, two Vice-presidents, a Branch Secretary, a Treasurer and seven other Directors who take on the responsibility of running various standing and ad-hoc committees of the Ottawa Branch.

Directors are nominated and elected to office by Branch members at Annual General Meetings. Directors are elected for a term of two years or until their successors are elected. A Director may serve on the Board for a maximum of 3 consecutive terms of 2 years (six years).

The Board is responsible for the conduct of the affairs of the Ottawa Branch, its assets and properties. It conducts the business of the Ottawa Branch in accordance with the Branch By-laws and the Association’s By-Laws.

There are three committees of the Board: the Executive Committee (includes Governance and Nominations), Branch Community Liaison Committee, and Members Committee (includes recruitment, retention and services). The Board also uses task forces and working groups as needed.

The Ottawa Branch is committed to building a culturally diverse board and strongly encourages applications from women, former civil servants from all staffing levels, visible minorities, Aboriginal Peoples, and 2SLGBTQ+ individuals, and individuals with disabilities. Spousal members may also apply.

The Current Board of Directors

Officers and Committee Chairs (2021-2022)

Robert Giroux

President and Chair, Executive Committee

Dave Bennett

Vice President

Darlene Boileau


Denis Lavoie


Harry Ruthnum


Committee Chairs & Directors

Paul Bennett

Myriam Boudreault

Hélène Buteau

Dan Butler

Leslie Lawry

Terry Sing

Chair, Branch Community Liaison Committee

District Directors

Daniel Brunet

District Director of Ottawa & Nunavut

Hélène Nadeau

District Director of Ottawa & Nunavut

Nomination of Directors

Each year, one-half of the twelve members of the Ottawa Branch Board of Directors usually reach the end of their two-year term. Elections are held to fill the resultant vacancies during the Annual General Meeting (AGM).

The Ottawa Branch By-Laws call for the establishment of a nominations committee and, a written call for nominations that ends 14 days before the AGM. As of 2022, the Executive Committee has taken on the responsibilities of the Nominations Committee. 

To ensure transparency in the process, the call for nominations is provided to our members through Sage, the Federal Retirees magazine. 

Every Branch member in good standing is eligible to nominate or stand as a candidate.

Nominations for 2022 are now closed. However, you are welcome to click here for more information about the selection criteria for director nominations that was used in 2022. 

When 2023 nominations open, the deadline will be posted here and we will ask interested candidates to please mail or email us a brief summary (250 words maximum) of their experience and qualifications and how they meet our selection criteria and a short CV. Candidates will also be asked to certify that they are a member in good standing. 

Candidates will be able to send an email to [email protected] or call 613-737-2199 if they would like to discuss this opportunity further.